Clinical Systems Analyst, TPP.

 

Laura Sharples

Clinical Systems Analyst at TPP.

My degree – Scandinavian Studies and Linguistics, 2014

My current job

Clinical Systems Analyst at TPP. This is an extremely varied role, my main responsibilities are in project management and designing and testing our leading healthcare software.

My career history 

The week after my final exam, I started work as a team member for a youth hostel in the Lake District. I did this for around 5 months each time in the summers of 2014 and 2015. During term-time 2014/15, I worked part time in Cotswold Outdoor as a retail assistant, and taught French and Norwegian evening classes to adults at Leeds Beckett University.

In September 2015, I began a master’s in Linguistics and its Applications for a Multilingual Society at Université Catholique de Louvain in Belgium. The course and the city were not as I had expected, so I decided to come home and look for a permanent position. I applied for TPP in late February last year, and started in March.

Using my degree skills in my career

As a linguistics and languages student, I learned to recognise patterns in unfamiliar texts. This experience has been really useful for the fast-paced work environment at TPP, and for getting familiar with the software itself.

I also think that knowing how to express myself in different languages has made me more articulate, so I am able to get my point across clearly and succinctly.

My relevant experience

TPP does not require any prior experience for the analyst role, so I cannot point at something specific that has helped me get to this position.

The wide variety of experiences I have had since starting university have made me into a more confident person, and made me surer of the direction I want my life to take. I think this came out during the interview stage for this role, and meant that I was an attractive candidate.

My career decisions

I did not really have a plan after university. I wanted to work in a youth hostel because it seemed like it would be fun, and it definitely was because I decided to do it two years in a row!

I was surprised to see a vacancy for a Norwegian language teacher in Leeds, so I applied despite not having all of the required qualifications or experience. I am glad I took the chance because the role was an interesting challenge, and different to anything I had done before.

I was actually persuaded to apply for the role at TPP by my dad. I had seen the advert in Leeds train station, and assumed I would not be successful because I had no experience of either healthcare or IT. After a few weeks of pestering, I finally caved and sent in my CV and cover letter. I decided to take the job because of the friendly atmosphere during the interview, the promise of a challenging position and the great perks offered.

Advice for working in my area

I advise students not to be intimidated by roles in IT, even if they think their degree is not relevant. Employers are interested in intelligence, transferable skills, and the ability to share your opinion.

Advice on making career decisions 

Although it can be great to have a clear plan for your future career, I would advise to stay flexible and consider every opportunity. Even if it doesn’t work out, you will learn from it.

This entry was posted in Linguistics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

